Skip to product information
1 of 1

JEAN-MICHEL CAZES

Bordeaux Grands Crus: The reconquest

Bordeaux Grands Crus: The reconquest

Regular price $31.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $31.00 USD
Sale Sold out
  • Author: JEAN-MICHEL CAZES
  • Publisher: Glénat
  • French language
  • Publication date: 05/2022
  • Dimensions: 14 x 22 cm
  • Number of pages: 504
  • Weight: 350g
  • Format: soft cover
  • ISBN: 9782344052822

Presentation:

Owner of Château Lynch-Bages, a Grand Cru Classé of Pauillac, Jean-Michel Cazes is an international wine figure. He contributed to bringing the Bordeaux vineyard into modernity and bears witness to the upheavals in the wine world over the past 50 years.

“Wine is for me, like bread, the basis of all food. It is the essential beverage, synonymous with culture, happiness, and the art of living. Each bottle that sleeps in my cellar contains a universe: the geography and history of the place where it was born, the soil, the plant, the climate, know-how... A universe ready to escape and be reborn , like the genie in Aladdin's lamp, at the first and only opportunity. »

After a golden age crowned by the classification of 1855 which made Bordeaux wines the most famous wines in the world, the Bordeaux vineyard took time to integrate the changes of the 20th and 21st centuries.
Jean-Michel Cazes witnessed the crisis of the 1970s which saw the aura of Bordeaux tarnish and the price of its wines collapse. He was a major player in their renewal and their tireless ambassador.
The family history and personal journey of this enthusiastic entrepreneur, wine grower at heart, make his book a true saga.
His experience and wise reflections are the keys to deciphering the complex heritage and functioning of the great wines of Bordeaux.

The author:

In 1973, while an engineer at IBM, Jean-Michel Cazes joined Médoc where his father, insurer and mayor of Pauillac, entrusted him with the exploitation of the vines, owned by the family since 1939. He undertook the modernization of Lynch-Bages and Ormes of Pez. From 1988, he acquired new vineyards: Villa Bel-Air in Graves, then Domaine de l'Ostal in La Livinière in Languedoc. In 2005, the Domaine des Sénéchaux in Châteauneuf-du-Pape, and a few years later, Château Haut-Batailley in Pauillac. He also creates new wines, in Portugal (Quinta do Meco in the Douro Valley) and in Australia (Tapanappa). From 1986, he participated in the construction of Axa-Millésimes (Pichon-Longueville and Cantenac-Brown in Médoc, Quinta do Noval in Portugal, Disznokö in Hungary, etc.), which he managed for 14 years.

The product is unavailable? Chat with us online to find out more about the next arrival!

View full details

Bordeaux Grands Crus: La reconquête

Bordeaux Grands Crus: La reconquête

Prix normal
$0.00
Prix réduit
$0.00
Prix normal
Épuisé
Prix unitaire
par 

  • Auteur: JEAN-MICHEL CAZES
  • Éditeur: Glénat
  • Langue: Français
  • Date de publication: 05/2022
  • Dimensions: 14 x 22 cm
  • Nombre de pages: 504
  • Poids: 350 g 
  • Format: couverture souple
  • ISBN: 9782344052822

Présentation:

Propriétaire de Château Lynch-Bages, grand cru classé de Pauillac, Jean-Michel Cazes est une figure internationale du vin. Il a contribué à faire entrer le vignoble bordelais dans la modernité et témoigne des bouleversements du monde viticole depuis 50 ans.

« Le vin est pour moi, comme le pain, la base de toute nourriture. C’est le breuvage essentiel, synonyme de culture, de bonheur, d’art de vivre. Chaque bouteille qui dort dans ma cave contient un univers : la géographie et l’histoire du lieu qui l’a vue naître, le sol, la plante, le climat, un savoir-faire… Un univers prêt à s’échapper et à renaître, comme le génie de la lampe d’Aladin, à la première et unique occasion. »

Après un âge d’or couronné par le classement de 1855 qui a fait des crus de Bordeaux les vins les plus célèbres du monde, le vignoble bordelais a mis du temps à intégrer les mutations des XXe et XXIe siècles.
Jean-Michel Cazes a été le témoin de la crise des années 1970 qui a vu l’aura de Bordeaux ternir et le prix de ses vins s'effondrer. Il a été un acteur majeur de leur renouveau et leur ambassadeur infatigable.
L'histoire familiale et le parcours personnel de cet entrepreneur enthousiaste, viti-viniculteur dans l’âme, font de son livre une véritable saga.
Son expérience et ses réflexions avisées sont autant de clés pour déchiffrer le patrimoine et le fonctionnement complexes des grands crus de Bordeaux. 

L'auteur:

En 1973, alors ingénieur chez IBM, Jean-Michel Cazes rejoint le Médoc où son père, assureur et maire de Pauillac, lui confie l’exploitation des vignes, propriété de la famille depuis 1939. Il entreprend la modernisation de Lynch-Bages et Ormes de Pez. À partir de 1988, il acquiert de nouveaux vignobles : Villa Bel-Air dans les Graves, puis le Domaine de l'Ostal à La Livinière en le Languedoc. En 2005, le Domaine des Sénéchaux à Châteauneuf-du-Pape, et quelques années plus tard, le château Haut-Batailley à Pauillac. Il crée aussi de nouveaux vins, au Portugal (Quinta do Meco dans la vallée du Douro) et en Australie (Tapanappa). À partir de 1986, il participe à la construction d’Axa-Millésimes (Pichon-Longueville et Cantenac-Brown en Médoc, Quinta do Noval au Portugal, Disznokö en Hongrie…), qu’il dirige pendant 14 ans. 

Le produit est indisponible? Discutez avec nous en ligne pour en savoir plus sur le prochain arrivage!