Skip to product information
1 of 1

HAROLD MCGEE

Nose Dive: A Field Guide to the World's Smells

Nose Dive: A Field Guide to the World's Smells

Regular price $22.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $22.00 USD
Sale Sold out
  • Author: HAROLD McGEE
  • Publisher: Appetite by Random House
  • English language
  • Publication date: 10/2022
  • Number of pages: 688
  • Dimensions: 18 x 23 cm
  • Weight: 822g
  • Format: Softcover
  • ISBN: 9780385666480

Presentation:

The ultimate guide to the smells of the universe - from ambrosial to pungent and everything in between - from the author of the acclaimed culinary guides On Food and Cooking and Keys to Good Cooking.

Harold McGee, James Beard Award-winning author and leading expert on the science of food and cooking, offers us an in-depth exploration of the awesome world of smells. In Nose Dive, McGee takes us on a sensory adventure, from the sulphurous nascent earth more than four billion years ago to the Tian Shan mountain range in the northern Himalayas to the keyboard of your laptop , where traces of formaldehyde escape between the keys. We will sniff the ordinary (wet sidewalk and cut grass) and the extraordinary (fresh bread and chocolate), the delicious (roses and vanilla) and the unpleasant (rotten meat and rotten eggs). We will feel each other. We will feel like ourselves.

Through it all, McGee acquaints us with the actual bits of matter we breathe—the molecules that trigger our perceptions, that cause the citrus smells of coriander and beer and the medicinal smells of daffodils and sea urchins. And like everything that exists in the physical world, molecules have a history. Many of the molecules we smell every day existed long before any creature was around to smell them – before those creatures even lived on a planet. Starting with the origin of these molecules in interstellar space, McGee reviews the smells of our planet, from the air and oceans, from the forest, grasslands and city, to the smells of the incense, perfumes, wine and food.

Here is a history of the world, of all the smells that are under our collective noses. A work of stunning erudition and originality, Nose Dive distills the science behind smells and translates it, as only McGee can, into an accessible and entertaining guide. By integrating the latest discoveries from biology and chemistry, and interweaving them with personal observations, McGee reveals how our sense of smell has the power to expose invisible and intangible details of our material world and our lives, and to trigger in us feelings which are the very essence of life.

The author:

Harold McGee writes about the science of food and cooking. He is the author of the award-winning classic On Food and Cooking: The Science and Lore of the Kitchen and Keys to Good Cooking: A Guide to Making the Best of Foods and Recipes, and a former columnist for The New York Times. He was named food writer of the year by Bon Appétit magazine and is included in the Time 100, an annual list of the world's most influential people. Since 2010, he has been a guest lecturer at Harvard University in the course "Science and Cooking: From Haute Cuisine to Soft Matter Science". He lives in San Francisco.

The product is unavailable? Chat with us online to find out more about the next arrival!

View full details

Nose Dive: A Field Guide to the World's Smells

Nose Dive: A Field Guide to the World's Smells

Prix normal
$28.00
Prix réduit
$28.00
Prix normal
Épuisé
Prix unitaire
par 

  • Auteur: HAROLD McGEE
  • Éditeur: Appetite by Random House
  • Langue: Anglais
  • Date de publication: 10/2022
  • Nombre de pages: 688
  • Dimensions: 18 x 23 cm
  • Poids: 822g
  • Format: Couverture souple
  • ISBN: 9780385666480

Présentation:

Le guide ultime des odeurs de l'univers - de l'ambrosien au piquant, en passant par toutes les autres - par l'auteur des célèbres guides culinaires On Food and Cooking et Keys to Good Cooking.

Harold McGee, auteur lauréat du James Beard Award et grand spécialiste de la science de l'alimentation et de la cuisine, nous propose une exploration approfondie du monde impressionnant des odeurs. Dans Nose Dive, McGee nous entraîne dans une aventure sensorielle, de la terre naissante sulfureuse, il y a plus de quatre milliards d'années, à la chaîne de montagnes Tian Shan, au nord de l'Himalaya, au clavier de votre ordinateur portable, où des traces de formaldéhyde s'échappent entre les touches. Nous reniflerons l'ordinaire (trottoir mouillé et herbe coupée) et l'extraordinaire (pain frais et chocolat), le délicieux (roses et vanille) et le désagréable (viande avariée et œufs pourris). Nous nous sentirons les uns les autres. Nous nous sentirons nous-mêmes.

À travers tout cela, McGee nous familiarise avec les véritables morceaux de matière que nous respirons - les molécules qui déclenchent nos perceptions, qui provoquent les odeurs d'agrumes de la coriandre et de la bière et les odeurs médicinales des jonquilles et des oursins. Et comme tout ce qui existe dans le monde physique, les molécules ont une histoire. Nombre des molécules que nous sentons tous les jours existaient bien avant qu'une créature ne soit là pour les sentir - avant même que ces créatures ne vivent sur une planète. En commençant par l'origine de ces molécules dans l'espace interstellaire, McGee passe en revue les odeurs de notre planète, de l'air et des océans, de la forêt, des prairies et de la ville, jusqu'aux odeurs de l'encens, des parfums, du vin et de la nourriture.

Voici une histoire du monde, de toutes les odeurs qui se trouvent sous notre nez collectif. Œuvre d'une érudition et d'une originalité stupéfiantes, Nose Dive distille la science derrière les odeurs et la traduit, comme seul McGee peut le faire, en un guide accessible et divertissant. En intégrant les dernières découvertes de la biologie et de la chimie, et en les entrelaçant avec des observations personnelles, McGee révèle comment notre odorat a le pouvoir d'exposer des détails invisibles et intangibles de notre monde matériel et de notre vie, et de déclencher en nous des sentiments qui sont l'essence même de la vie.

L'auteur:

Harold McGee écrit sur la science de l'alimentation et de la cuisine. Il est l'auteur du classique primé On Food and Cooking : The Science and Lore of the Kitchen et Keys to Good Cooking : A Guide to Making the Best of Foods and Recipes, et ancien chroniqueur pour le New York Times. Il a été nommé écrivain culinaire de l'année par le magazine Bon Appétit et fait partie du Time 100, une liste annuelle des personnes les plus influentes du monde. Depuis 2010, il est conférencier invité à l'université de Harvard dans le cadre du cours "Science and Cooking : From Haute Cuisine to Soft Matter Science". Il vit à San Francisco.

Le produit est indisponible? Discutez avec nous en ligne pour en savoir plus sur le prochain arrivage!