Secrets of the Sommeliers: How to Think and Drink Like the World's Top Wine Professionals

Secrets of the Sommeliers: How to Think and Drink Like the World's Top Wine Professionals

Regular price
$45.00
Sale price
$45.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 

  • Authors: RAJAT PARR & JORDAN MACKAY
  • Publisher: Ten Speed Press
  • Language: English
  • Release date: 10/2010
  • Number of pages: 240
  • Dimensions: 17 x 25 cm
  • Weight: 1275g
  • Format: hardcover
  • ISBN: 9781580082983

Presentation:

A fascinating exploration of the inner world of sommeliers, sharing their unique perspectives, vast expertise, and best stories.

Rajat Parr's deep knowledge of wines, deep relationships with producers, and renowned tasting skills have made him a legend in the business. As wine director for the Mina Group, Parr presides over the wine lists of some of the country's top restaurants. In Secrets of the Sommeliers, Parr and journalist Jordan Mackay paint a fascinating portrait of the world's top wine professionals and their craft. The authors interviewed the elite of the sommelier community, and their colleagues' insights, recommendations, and funny stories are woven throughout the book, along with Parr's own views on his profession and his favorite wines and winemakers. Throughout the pages, the authors offer an immersion course in wine tasting and service, share strategies for unearthing hard-to-find bottles at good prices and identifying highlights among the many regions, and teach readers how to make inspired food and wine pairings.

Authors:

Rajat Parr is the director of wine for the Mina Group. He develops and manages the wine programs for its 17 restaurants, which are located in San Francisco, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Washington D.C., Miami, Scottsdale and Atlantic City. His menu for Michael Mina, the flagship restaurant, has won several major Wine Spectator awards. Originally from Calcutta, India, Parr resides in San Francisco.

Jordan Mackay is a James-Beard Award-winning writer on wine, spirits and food. His articles have appeared in Food & Wine, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Decanter, The Art of Eating, Wine and Spirits, and many others. His first book, Passion for Pinot, was published in 2009, and his second, Secrets of the Sommeliers (with Rajat Parr), was released in October 2010, and won a James Beard Award in 2011. Two in the Kitchen was published in 2012. Franklin Barbecue (with Aaron Franklin) was published in April 2015 and spent many weeks on the New York Times bestseller list. Knife, written with chef John Tesar, was released in May 2017 by Flatiron Press. His new book is The Sommelier's Atlas of Taste, again with Parr, while Franklin Steak comes out in spring 2018. Jordan lives in Napa Valley and travels extensively, talking about wine, spirits and food.

The product is unavailable? Chat with us online to learn more about the next shipment!

Secrets of the Sommeliers: How to Think and Drink Like the World's Top Wine Professionals

Secrets of the Sommeliers: How to Think and Drink Like the World's Top Wine Professionals

Prix normal
$45.00
Prix réduit
$45.00
Prix normal
Épuisé
Prix unitaire
par 

  • Auteurs: RAJAT PARR & JORDAN MACKAY
  • Éditeurs: Ten Speed Press
  • Langue: English
  • Date de publication: 10/2010
  • Pages: 240
  • Dimensions: 17 x 25 cm
  • Poids: 1275g
  • Format: Couverture rigide
  • ISBN: 9781580082983

Présentation:

Une exploration fascinante du monde intérieur des sommeliers, partageant leurs perspectives uniques, leur vaste expertise et leurs meilleures histoires.

La connaissance approfondie des vins de Rajat Parr, ses relations profondes avec les producteurs et ses capacités de dégustation renommées ont fait de lui une légende dans le milieu. En tant que directeur des vins pour le groupe Mina, Parr préside aux listes de vins de certains des meilleurs restaurants du pays. Dans Secrets of the Sommeliers, Parr et le journaliste Jordan Mackay dressent un portrait fascinant des meilleurs professionnels du vin du monde et de leur métier. Les auteurs ont interrogé l'élite de la communauté des sommeliers et les idées, les recommandations et les histoires amusantes de leurs collègues sont tissées tout au long de l'ouvrage, ainsi que les points de vue de Parr sur sa profession et ses vins et vignerons préférés. Au fil des pages, les auteurs proposent un cours d'immersion dans la dégustation et le service du vin, partagent des stratégies pour dénicher des bouteilles difficiles à trouver à bon prix et identifier les points forts parmi les nombreuses régions, et apprennent aux lecteurs à réaliser des accords mets et vins inspirés.

Les auteurs:

Rajat Parr est le directeur des vins du groupe Mina. Il élabore et gère les programmes de vins de ses 17 restaurants, qui se trouvent à San Francisco, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Washington D.C., Miami, Scottsdale et Atlantic City. Sa carte pour Michael Mina, le restaurant phare, a remporté plusieurs grands prix du Wine Spectator. Originaire de Calcutta, en Inde, M. Parr réside à San Francisco.

Jordan Mackay est un écrivain primé par le prix James-Beard sur le vin, les spiritueux et la nourriture. Ses articles sont parus dans Food & Wine, le New York Times, le Los Angeles Times, le San Francisco Chronicle, Decanter, The Art of Eating, Wine and Spirits, et bien d'autres. Son premier livre, Passion for Pinot, a été publié en 2009, et son deuxième, Secrets of the Sommeliers (avec Rajat Parr), est sorti en octobre 2010, et a remporté un prix James Beard en 2011. Two in the Kitchen a été publié en 2012. Franklin Barbecue (avec Aaron Franklin) a été publié en avril 2015 et a passé de nombreuses semaines sur la liste des best-sellers du New York Times. Knife, écrit avec le chef John Tesar, est sorti en mai 2017 chez Flatiron Press. Son nouveau livre est The Sommelier's Atlas of Taste, toujours avec Parr, tandis que Franklin Steak sort au printemps 2018. Jordan vit dans la Napa Valley et voyage beaucoup, parlant de vin, de spiritueux et de nourriture.

Le produit est indisponible? Discutez avec nous en ligne pour en savoir plus sur le prochain arrivage!